Thanks-living

I am inspired to write a post due to Aunt Ruthie over at the Sugar Pie Farmhouse. Her little blog is so adorable and her decorating sense is incredible. Who doesn’t love another good ol’ southern gal? 😉 Click on the link to hop on over to her blog and check it out.

http://www.sugarpiefarmhouse.com

In her newest blog post, Aunt Ruthie talks about “Thanks-living.” This is something I have been focusing on quite often in recent months. She goes on to explain that Thanks-living is living your life with intention and looking for the small blessings in day-to-day activities.

I always try to start my prayers off singing God’s praises and thanking Him for all the wonderful things He has given me. Sometimes I just jump into a prayer, pouring out my problems and then think, “Sorry, God. I have all sorts of things around me that you have blessed me with. Sometimes my problems are so tiny compared to the problems of others in the world.”

Today, I want to recommit to being positive. I want to try even harder to look around at the beauty and blessing the Lord has already bestowed upon me.

I have a roof over my head. We have food to eat. I am able to make my home a beautiful sanctuary for my family. I have a job. We are able to have fun. We have our health. We live in a wonderful, free country. I have my baby boy – the biggest blessing of all!

I hope everyone else is doing well. I pray that you are able to see the blessings around you as well.

On another note, last weekend I was able to plant some flowers in the garden. The weather is so crazy here in Texas! I’m pretty sure it was almost 80 degrees yesterday – no lie.

Jacob had so much fun helping me take pitchers of water out to water our new flowers. It’s amazing how a simple task can be so fun for a toddler. And who am I calling toddler?? He’s four now. My little baby is growing up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

