O, wind, If Winter comes, can Spring be far behind? – Percy Bysshe Shelley

So here I sit… planning my Easter decorations and dreaming of springtime when **BAM** more of this cold, rainy stuff… Oh well, another excuse for hot chocolate. 🙂

We Texans aren’t used to this cold weather. Tonight the low with be in the 20s and people are cancelling school and making sure they have jugs of water, batteries and canned food ready. Well, not the last part, I think, but I’m sure you Northerners are laughing at us about now. There is a small chance of snow on  Thursday!

Last night I made chicken enchiladas care of Janelle over at Comfy in the Kitchen. They. Were. Incredible. You must try this recipe. Link below:

http://comfynkitchen.blogspot.com/2011/01/chicken-enchiladas.html

I need to improve in my picture-taking habits. The dish was beautiful! Afterwards, I made fried banana cakes (just the name sounds healthy, right?). They were sprinkled with powdered sugar. RH ate them up. He took some for breakfast this morning.

I am about to begin studying the book of Ruth. I received this bible study from time-warp-wife.blogspot.com. Can’t wait to see what I learn. 🙂

I will be honest with you. I haven’t had lots of experience reading the bible. I am working on that. I now have a thirst for God’s knowledge and hope he blesses me with wisdom that I can only gain by reading His word.

I started off by reading from Matthew. I decided to look through the Old Testament as well. I began to read some of Leviticus and was just confused. Why were there passages about how to treat slaves? What is all this about animal sacrifices? I felt like this went against everything I thought God would want for us. I was deeply troubled and wanted an explanation. Luckily, I am blessed to have a co-worker who is a pastor at a local church (just another small way God let himself into my life!). The next morning I asked him to explain. I told him I was aware this world probably be an hour-long conversation and he doesn’t have the time but I asked him for some insight as to what these verses meant.

He told me that when I sit down to study the bible I should first begin with a prayer asking God for understanding and the ability to comprehend what I am about to read. He said it is difficult to understand the bible without God’s assistance.

He explained that much of what is in the Old Testament is symbolic. He also said that animal sacrifice was common place before Jesus shed His blood for us on the cross because they would repent of their sins with animal blood. After we were washed in the blood of Jesus and cleansed of our sins, animal blood was no longer necessary.

How do you all feel about this explanation? Any tips about the Old Testament for a newbie navigating these waters?

P.S. Thank goodness for spell check. Ha.

Hope everyone is having a fantastic day. Lots of love going your way!

4 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Food

4 responses to “O, wind, If Winter comes, can Spring be far behind? – Percy Bysshe Shelley

  1. I would start at Genesis, then Exodus then Joshua. However, you did the most important thing which is to ask God for his guidance and understanding when you are reading His word. Something that I think we tend to overlook to often! I pray that your efforts to learn more about what the bible is teaching is very fruitful, don’t give up! If you have a specific question you can always send me an e-mail and I will try to answer if I know or point you in the right direction.

    • Thank you so much! That is so sweet. I also agree with you that often people forget to pray and ask God for help or guidance. I know I need as much guidance from him as I can get! 🙂 I already feel like I have learned so much and it has just sparked my interest to know more. Thanks for the kinds words and offer – I will probably be shooting many questions your way!

  2. Wohooo! So glad you enjoyed the enchiladas! God Bless Ya, Janelle

Leave a Reply

